The Tories have lost control of Barnet Council after Councillor Sury Khatri resigned from the party.

The long-standing councillor, who represented the Mill Hill ward, made the decision after being de-selected from the Conservative group following elections at the Hendon Conservative Association last weekend.

Cllrs Maureen Braun and Joan Scannell also failed the secure the backing of members, meaning they are unable to stand for re-election when voters go the polls on May 3.

First elected in 2010, Cllr Khatri is chairman of the Hendon Residents’ Forum and helped establish the NW7 Hub and Mill Hill Partnership Library.

Labour London Assembly Member for Barnet and Camden Andrew Dismore said: “How ironic that the Conservative backstabbing of three respected members should come to a head on the Ides of March.

"The hubris, arrogance and nastiness that has come to characterise their administration in Barnet has come full circle.

"Cllr Khatri has been very brave and done the right thing. He is a dedicated public servant and he deserves to end his term on his own terms. I hope Cllrs Braun and Scannell will also consider leaving this toxic Conservative group."

Leader of the Barnet Labour Group, Cllr Barry Rawlings said: "This is a tired and divided Barnet Conservative administration that has run out of ideas and energy.

"On Thursday May 3, Barnet's residents have a chance to vote for a brighter future with a Labour administration that's ambitious for Barnet and ready to govern."

Cllr Daniel Thomas, deputy leader of Barnet Council, commented: "Conservatives remain the largest political group on the council, under the leadership of Cllr Cornelius. 

"We are all campaigning hard to ensure this remains the case, and that we increase our majority at the local elections on May 3."

A Barnet Council spokesperson said: "We can confirm that Cllr Khatri has notified the council of his resignation from the Conservative Group and that he will continue as an Independent Member.

"The Conservative Group remain the majority Group although they no longer have the overall majority of members."

Cllr Khatri's resignation leaves the Tories with 31 councillors, with the rest of the council made up of 30 Labour members, one Liberal Democrat and one Independent.