A list of candidates has been revealed for the upcoming by-election in Edgware.

Voters will go to the polls on Thursday, May 6 to elect a successor to long-serving Tory councillor Brian Gordon, who died in September last year.

Local elections were postponed following the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic, amid concerns over its impact on campaigning and voting.

But with restrictions gradually being lifted, the Government has allowed them to go ahead from May.

The candidates for the Edgware by-election are:

  • Andrea Lesley Bilbow – Labour Party
  • Nick Mearing-Smith – Conservative Party
  • Sam Murray – Green Party
  • Roger Martin Tichborne – Liberal Democrats

The Tories won a sizeable majority in Edgware at the local elections in 2018, with Cllr Gordon more than 2,000 votes ahead of the top-polling Labour candidate.

Barnet Council is currently made up of 36 Conservative councillors, 23 Labour members and two Liberal Democrats, with two vacant positions.

More information about the upcoming elections and the different methods available to vote, including registering for a postal vote, is available at: www.barnet.gov.uk/elections