The final lists of candidates for both parliamentary constituencies in Islington have been revealed.

Voters across the country will go to the polls on July 4, after Prime Minister Rishi Sunak called a general election.

Labour candidates previously won both seats – Jeremy Corbyn in Islington North and Emily Thornberry in Islington South and Finsbury.

Both will be seeking to be re-elected when voters go to the polls at the start of next month, although Corbyn will be running as an independent candidate.

The former leader was suspended by Labour in 2020, after he said antisemitism in the party had been “dramatically overstated for political reasons”.

He was later readmitted to the party, but the whip was not reinstated meaning he had to sit in Parliament as an independent MP.

Earlier this year, Labour leader Sir Keir Starmer confirmed that the veteran left-wing MP would not be the party’s candidate in Islington North at the next general election.

At the end of last month, Corbyn said that he would run as an independent candidate, setting the stage for a showdown with his former party.

Islington councillor Praful Nargund has been chosen by Labour to run against Corbyn in the seat.  

Nominations to run in both Islington constituencies closed on Friday (June 7).

Here is a full list of the candidates you can vote for on July 4 in alphabetical order by surname.

Islington North

  • Vikkas Aggarwal – Liberal Democrats
  • Jeremy Corbyn – Independent
  • Karen Harries – Conservative and Unionist Party
  • Paul Josling – Independent
  • Sheridan Kates – Green Party
  • Praful Nargund – Labour Party
  • Martyn Nelson – Reform UK

Islington South and Finsbury

  • Max Nelson – Reform UK
  • Jake Painter – Social Democratic Party
  • Andrew Parry – Independent
  • Carne Ross – Green Party
  • Ethan Saunders – Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Imogen Sinclair – Conservative and Unionist Party
  • Terry Stacy – Liberal Democrats
  • Emily Thornberry – Labour Party
  • Lesley Woodburn – Party of Women