Barnet managed to survive a second half onslaught to secure a 3-2 victory against a Tottenham XI in Lee Harrison’s testimonial game.

Despite the victory Lawrie Sanchez’s men will be disappointed with the final score having lead 3-0 at half time.

A goal inside two minutes from Mark Marshall set the tone for the first half. The Bees dominated the Spurs side and doubled the lead from an Izale McLeod penalty before Mark Bryne made it 3-0 with a well timed header.

Spurs were much improved in the second period and goals from Harry Kane and Jonathon Obika gave the away side hope of completing a comeback. But a terrific display from trialist goalkeeper Dean Brill restricted the away side to just two goals.

Lawrie Sanchez was in the dugout for the first time in pre-season and continued the experiment of three central defenders with two wing backs.

Despite the unfamiliar look to the Spurs line-up they did have players with Championship experience with Andros Townsend and Jake Livermore both spending time at Watford and Leeds United respectively.

The Bees were on the front foot from kick off and took the lead two minutes into the match.

After winning a free kick on the edge of the box Marshall stepped up and curled his shot into Tottenham keeper David Button’s top right hand corner.

It did not take long for man of the day Harrison to be involved in the action, getting down smartly to his left to stop an effort from Spurs striker Harry Kane.

McLeod, who has two goals from two pre-season games, had his first opportunity of the game ten minutes in.

After taking a chipped through pass down on his chest the striker turned well but could only send his shot into the chest of Button.

The fans at Underhill then rose to their feet to applaud Harrison as he was replaced by Dean Brill on 15 minutes.

Tottenham did not take long to test Brill, Alex Pritchard forcing a good save from the Barnet keeper.

But it was the Bees who continued to look the more threatening and were awarded a penalty when Jordan Parkes was bundled over in the box.

Despite missing from the spot in the mid-week friendly with Gabala, McLeod again stepped up and this time fired his shot straight down the middle of Button’s goal.

The Bees then made it two goals in two minutes. Marshall again causing Tottenham problems on the left before sending in a perfect cross for Bryne to head past Button.

Determined not to let the game get beyond them, Tottenham came close to getting a goal back on several occasions.

Left-back Townsend sending a shot just past Brill’s post before Jess Lassen managed to beat the Barnet keeper only to see his attempt cleared off the line by Darren Dennehy.

The first period came to a close with Townsend again looking dangerous, this time sending a low shot into the palms of Brill.

Sanchez decided against making any half time changes but it was Tottenham who started the second period the stronger and got a goal back from the penalty spot.

Spurs striker Harry Kane tumbled over in the box and referee Mark Halsey pointed to the spot. Kane decided to take the resulting penalty and comfortably beat Barnet keeper Brill from 12 yards.

The away side continued to put pressure on the Bees and nearly had a second goal when Obika sent in a low shot that required Brill to be at his best.

But the forward did not have to wait long to get his name on the score sheet. Moments after his first miss, the ball dropped nicely to Obika in the Barnet box and the striker slid the ball past the Barnet keeper.

Tottenham continued to push forward in search of an equaliser but Brill was able to match anything that was sent his way.

Barnet rarely threatened in the second 45 minutes but came close when Clovis Kamdjo sent a header over from a corner.

The Bees, thanks to a fantastic display from Brill, managed to hold on to their lead and secured their third pre-season win in three games.

Barnet: Harrison; Parkes, Uddin, Kamdjo, Dennehy; M.Byrne, Hughes, Deering, Marshall; McLeod, Holmes.

Substitutes: Brill, O’Brien, Taylor, Vilhete, Watts, Cox, Savage.

Tottenham XI: Button; N.Byrne, Townsend, Carroll, Livermore; Milos, Lassen, Luongo, Obika, Kane, Pritchard.

Substitutes: Kudos, Archer, Teddi, Nicolson, Day, Hawkins, Sheriff, Barcham, Munns, Laste.