Barnet Youth Parliament winners announced

First published in News
Last updated
Times Series: Photograph of the Author by , Chief Reporter - north London

Four teenagers will play their part in shaping the future of Barnet after they were elected to sit on the borough’s youth parliament.

Joshua Awoderu, 15, a pupil at Ashmole Academy, Southgate and Nikhil Malkan, also 15, who goes to the London Academy, Edgware, will represent the borough until 2015.

Afagh Mulazadeh, 16, from the Copthall School, Barnet, and 14-year-old Emily Otvos, from the Channing School, were elected as deputy members for youth parliament.

More than 11,000 pupils from across Barnet’s schools voted for their preferred candidate on the online poll, which ran from February 24 to March 9.

Councillor Reuben Thompstone, cabinet member for education, children and families, said: “I want to congratulate the young people that have been elected to serve as members and deputy members of the UKYP.

“They will now have real influence on how decisions makers locally and on the national stage handle issues that affect young people in Barnet.”

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree