Shame on council for ruining holiday

5:07pm Thursday 28th August 2014

We arrived in London last Tuesday at 3.02pm and by 3.10pm I had my very first parking ticket. Two excited children, luggage and, it would seem, nowhere to park. The first day of our holiday seemed destined to be our last.

Don’t forget the hedgehogs

Times Series:

5:06pm Thursday 28th August 2014

Hedgehogs, like many wildlife species, are declining in numbers due to environmental changes in both rural and urban areas, mostly caused by humans. But you can help the urban scene by doing some simple things around your garden. Hedgehogs are good for the garden because they eat a lot of the creepy crawlies that most of us don’t like, ie. slugs, beetles, earwigs, worms and millipedes, to name but a few. But the hogs can’t get at them if your garden is too tidy, or they can’t move freely from one garden to the next.

Essential for a fair society

5:04pm Thursday 28th August 2014

People in this country are rightly proud of the NHS, and many are angry at the creeping privatisation now being introduced. The service will be further threatened if a trade deal currently being negotiated with the US goes ahead.

Nation honoured lady for a reason

5:03pm Thursday 28th August 2014

I am writing in response to a letter written by Stephen O’Byrne (‘Letter was not patronising’, Your Views, August 7).

Life is precious at any age

5:01pm Thursday 28th August 2014

I am writing in regards to Jim Brightwell’s letter (‘Turning 70 is not good news’, Your Views, August 14).

Revival has been a total failure

5:00pm Thursday 28th August 2014

The well-known retail expert Bill Grimsey has said that Government efforts to revive UK high streets are a resounding failure. Retail space is collapsing, but high streets are not gaining community uses instead.

Information would be most helpful

3:26pm Friday 22nd August 2014

We are writing to appeal for information about an attempted break-in and assault that happened at approximately 2pm on August 4 in North Finchley. We would like to thank those that came to our aid, in particular a young gentleman who tried to stop the assailant from running away.

Don’t build on leisure space

3:24pm Friday 22nd August 2014

Fairview portrays itself as a housing development company made of moral and ethical dreams. Their website states: “It makes perfect sense to reclaim brownfield sites”, these being “existing urban land that has fallen into disuse” so they can “preserve our precious landscape”. So how do Fairview justify building 135 housing units for hobbits on the Hendon Football Club (HFC) site? Easy. Just re-label it a brownfield site.

Don’t dismiss other views

Times Series: Margaret Thatcher

3:20pm Friday 22nd August 2014

I’m sorry my letter annoyed Mr Stephen O’Byrne so much (‘Letter was not patronising’, Your Views, August 7).

Park’s condition is a health issue

3:19pm Friday 22nd August 2014

I am writing to bring the public’s attention to the worsening condition of Sunnyhill Park.

Fine drivers who leave cars idling

3:18pm Friday 22nd August 2014

Barnet Borough Council continues to fail to act on existing legislation to fine drivers who leave their engines idling when parked.

Speed limit cut is very welcome

3:17pm Friday 22nd August 2014

Transport for London (TfL) recently announced that the speed limit on the A1 Barnet Bypass between Rowley Lane and Courtland Road will be cut from 70mph to 50mph later this summer.

Sort out this housing crisis

3:15pm Friday 22nd August 2014

Housing is an emotive word and it should be; it is imperative for our survival. Lately, it has also become a political hot potato, with our local and national politicians constantly talking about a housing crisis. Their response to the problem is to talk about the number of housing units to be built over the next few decades. But merely talking figures is not enough. To devise a truly intelligent plan to cope with this crisis we must seriously consider other aspects of our housing problem, such as cost, size, outdoor space and of course, people.

A representative of the people?

Times Series: Finchley and Golders Green MP Mike Freer has organised the fair

4:31pm Thursday 14th August 2014

MP for Golders Green and Finchley Mike Freer was due to meet his constituents at an event scheduled for Monday, July 28, to take place at the New North London Synagogue. The meeting was cancelled at the last minute.

Turning 70 is not good news

4:29pm Thursday 14th August 2014

I reach 70 this week, an age I have not been looking forward to. Getting to 60 was great as I had free eye tests and prescriptions, reduced entry to most events, and, best of all, free travel around London.

No practical difference

4:27pm Thursday 14th August 2014

I may be “one of those people who do not understand the area code system” (‘Some people do not understand’, Your Views, July 24), but isn’t Mr Shillibeer being unnecessarily pedantic?

More reason to quote area code

4:26pm Thursday 14th August 2014

Mr Shillibeer is quite right to bemoan the ignorance of those who will not use the correct London area code of 020 (‘Some people do not understand’, Your Views, July 24).

Take your head out of the sand

4:24pm Thursday 14th August 2014

“Allowing greater flexibility so you can turn often empty office space into housing is right”, so says the Prime Minister when he was asked about his Government’s policy, which is leading to the closure of 150 businesses and the loss of hundreds of jobs in Premier House, Edgware (‘Prime Minister discusses issues affecting borough’, Times Series, August 1). His comments show how the Conservatives do not care a jot about small business.

Critique not easy to shrug off

4:20pm Thursday 14th August 2014

Congratulations to Mr Elliot Moore for achieving that rare thing: a letter to a newspaper which one can imagine making a difference (‘MP was extremely patronising’, Your Views, July 31).

Obscene amount spent on housing

4:19pm Thursday 14th August 2014

Your newspaper reports David Cameron’s visit to Barnet in which he alludes to “the high-spending, high-taxing and high-borrowing past” (Prime Minister discusses issues affecting borough’, Times Series, July 31).

Can you name these players?

Times Series:

4:43pm Thursday 7th August 2014

Are there any readers able to name the players in this photograph?

Researching my family history

4:38pm Thursday 7th August 2014

Can any of your readers help me? I am doing some research into my family history.

Letter was not patronising

Times Series: Margaret Thatcher

4:36pm Thursday 7th August 2014

I write in response to Martin R Maloney’s letter (‘Not everyone feels the same’, Your Views, July 24). Having spoken to many Finchley residents since the publication of my letter (‘Saddened by naming request’, Your Views, July 10), I have yet to encounter anyone who found it insulting or patronising in the slightest. Quite the opposite in fact. That said, I would rigorously defend my comments regardless, in the street or in print.

Hospital service was excellent

Times Series: Open day held at new Finchley Memorial Hospital

4:33pm Thursday 7th August 2014

I would like to provide some positive feedback about treatment at Barnet and Chase Farm Hospitals NHS Trust.

I would rather a quiet bridge

4:30pm Thursday 7th August 2014

Contemplating a new garden bridge across the Thames, Mayor Boris Johnson said: “I would rather have a quiet garden bridge than one where pedestrians feel they constantly have to whisk round to watch out for a cyclist.”

Changes will not happen soon

4:29pm Thursday 7th August 2014

Hendon’s Conservative MP Matthew Offord attempts to put a positive spin on Govia taking over the Thameslink line (‘Good news for local people’, Your Views, July 17), but it will be years before any difference is likely to be seen in the frequency and capacity of the service.

A short history of telephone codes

4:27pm Thursday 7th August 2014

Further to William F Shillibeer’s letter (‘Some people do not understand’, Your Views, July 24) here is a short history of the changes to London telephone numbers.

Remember the victims

4:24pm Thursday 7th August 2014

On Saturday, August 9, 2014, at 11am, people in Barnet will remember the victims of the atomic bombs dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki in 1945.

Councillors need to do the right and decent thing – resign

4:04pm Thursday 31st July 2014

For weeks we have been reading about the scandalous behaviour of councillors Hugh Rayner, John Hart and Dean Cohen, which is unethical at the very least and might be illegal.

Increased service would really help

4:02pm Thursday 31st July 2014

Why can’t the 399 bus be increased to two or three an hour Monday to Saturday?

MP was extremely patronising

Times Series: Hendon MP Matthew Offord

4:00pm Thursday 31st July 2014

I manage a business in Premier House on Edgware High Street and we have recently been notified that Barnet Borough Council has given permission to turn the premises into a residential property. With zero consultation and in most cases only one month’s notice, the 70-80 companies (800-plus employees) in the building have been told they must vacate.

Councillor has acted shamefully

3:57pm Thursday 31st July 2014

I have, this week, submitted a complaint to Barnet Borough Council regarding Labour’s Councillor Kathy McGuirk’s breach of the Local Government Finance Act 1992. I believe this to be of significant public interest.

‘Hope and pray Israel survives’

3:55pm Thursday 31st July 2014

I think we should all support plucky little Israel in its battle against overwhelming odds. After being blockaded for seven years, with no access to clean water, denied essential medicines, suffering massive child malnutrition, and with an unemployment rate of 46 per cent, Israel has no choice but to rise up against its oppressors.

Spoilsport stopped children playing

3:54pm Thursday 31st July 2014

A day to remember – Friday, July 18 is the day schoolchildren from Sacred Heart break up. The boys and girls in Year 6 have just had their last day at primary school, not a roller coaster ride these days. They are made to work harder than we parents had to in our day.

Not everyone feels the same

Times Series: Margaret Thatcher

4:09pm Thursday 24th July 2014

Having disclaimed any wish to patronise your readers, Stephen O’Byrne immediately proceeds to patronise them most offensively by imputing to them all his own personal hang-ups, political prejudices and historical fantasies regarding the late Lady Thatcher (‘Saddened by naming request’, Opinion, July 10).

Send workers in to keep it tidy

4:04pm Thursday 24th July 2014

Many years ago, I wrote to you about the woeful condition of Sunnyhill Park. Promises were made by Barnet Borough Council about improvements in the near future. Is there any change? Well, yes, there is – woeful has now degenerated into disgraceful.

Pulling the wool over our eyes

4:02pm Thursday 24th July 2014

Councillor Reuben Thompstone is trying to pull the wool over people’s eyes concerning class sizes in infant schools (‘Strong record on delivering’, Your Views, July 17).

Scheme must be thrown out

3:57pm Thursday 24th July 2014

I am writing in response to a letter written by John Cox regarding the Brent Cross development (‘Councillor could refuse to sell’, Your Views, July 3).

We are reliant on generosity

3:41pm Thursday 24th July 2014

I would like to highlight the tremendous generosity of the people of Finchley, particularly those who were shopping in the North Finchley Waitrose superstore on Saturday, June 28.

Some people do not understand

3:40pm Thursday 24th July 2014

Many of the staff at both Barnet Borough Council and Barnet Hospital do not know the London telephone code. It is 020, not 0208. After 020 there are eight digits starting with 8 or 7.

Delay is down to the developer

3:38pm Thursday 24th July 2014

You reported on the unacceptable situation in respect of Dollis Park (‘Neighbours at the ‘end of their tether’ over ‘eyesore’, Barnet & Potters Bar Times, July 10).

Hospital offers a wonderful service

Times Series: Barnet Hospital

3:36pm Thursday 24th July 2014

I would like to take this opportunity to say thank you to Barnet Hospital.

We will be representing all of the people of East Barnet

4:18pm Thursday 17th July 2014

As the newly-elected Labour councillors for East Barnet we would like to thank all those who voted for us on May 22.

Strong record on delivering

4:17pm Thursday 17th July 2014

Assembly Member Andrew Dismore recently wrote a somewhat misleading letter about a shortage of school places in the borough (‘More school places needed’, Your Views, July 3).

Condition of park is a joke

4:15pm Thursday 17th July 2014

I know that Burnt Oak is usually written off as the armpit of leafy Barnet (I believe Barnet Borough Council lists it as a deprived area) but the condition of Watling Park is way beyond a joke.

Think carefully before renaming

Times Series: Margaret Thatcher

4:13pm Thursday 17th July 2014

I didn’t respond to a letter written suggesting that either a street or Finchley Memorial Hospital should be named after Margaret Thatcher because I honestly thought it was a joke, especially as there was even a hint that she was worthy of being made a saint (‘Name street after Margaret Thatcher’, Your Views, June 19).

Good news for local people

4:11pm Thursday 17th July 2014

From this September train company Govia will be operating the Thameslink line, which runs through Hendon and Mill Hill Broadway stations. I took an early opportunity to meet Govia to discuss some of the issues that have been raised by residents, notably frequency of service, the introduction of new trains, step-free access at Mill Hill, and staff presence at stations.

Old road sign photo appeal

4:08pm Thursday 17th July 2014

This is a long shot appeal, but until about 2008 when they brought in the 20mph limit there was an old road sign on the corner of Wood Lane and Blair Avenue in Hendon, and although I saw it nearly every day for many years, it didn’t occur to me to take a photo of it as it was always there and so familiar.

Thank you for trusting us

4:06pm Thursday 17th July 2014

We would like to thank Colindale voters for putting their trust in us and electing us with a huge majority.

Pushing on an open door

Times Series: Richard Cornelius

4:04pm Thursday 17th July 2014

At the Any Questions debate at Friern Barnet Community Library on June 20 the question was put: “When does the panel suggest that the library lease be extended by the council to ten years or more?”






Essential links



click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree